The Year of the Flood


Name: The Year of the Flood
By: Margaret Atwood
Narrated by: Bernadette Dunne, Katie MacNichol, Mark Bramhall
Series: The MaddAddam Trilogy, Book 2, The MaddAddam Trilogy (Published Order), Book 2
Length 14 hrs and 4 mins
Category: Literature & Fiction, Genre Fiction
Release Date: 2009-09-21
Language: English

 The Year of the Flood paints a portrait of humanity’s struggle to survive in the face of overwhelming odds. Margaret Atwood’s powerful story weaves together the lives of three unforgettable characters as they traverse a stark and unforgiving landscape, seeking solace in the remnants of a once-thriving society. Amidst the ruins, two estranged friends, Ren and Toby, find themselves brought together once more by the shadowy eco-religious group known as the God’s Gardeners. As they grapple with their new reality, they must confront their past and unravel the mysteries surrounding the Gardener’s prophetic visions of the impending Waterless Flood. Alongside them, Adam One, the group’s enigmatic leader, endeavors to steer his flock through the challenges of a world on the brink. Throughout the novel, the voices of Bernadette Dunne, Katie MacNichol, and Mark Bramhall transport listeners into the heart of this strange world, adding depth and resonance to the complex relationships and vividly drawn secondary characters. Their narration lends an additional layer of texture to the already richly-imagined landscape, further immersing the audience in the unfolding drama. The Year of the Flood seamlessly blends elements of science fiction, speculative fiction, and human drama to create a hauntingly resonant tale that lingers long after the last page has been turned. This is the part of the MaddAddam Trilogy and is just as famous as Old Babes in the Wood. Another standout work by Atwood is The Testaments which is quite fantastic. Author is brilliant in storytelling so there is no error in this thing at any stage.

Full Audiobook

Leave a Comment